Breitling Watch Information Forums, Navitimer, Chronomat
It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 8:53 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours

PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2016 1:58 am 
Breitling Newbie
Breitling Newbie

Liked in: 6 posts
Hi All!
Excited to be part of the forum. I'm pretty new to Breitling but have always admired the heritage of the Navitimer, so when I saw one in a reputable dealer here in Australia I decided to pull the trigger.

The watch appears to be in great condition so I'm assuming it's probably been restored. but I noticed that unlike the examples I've seen online it was missing the "t" after Swiss Made.

Just wanted to check if this is something that could have happened with a replacement part or something that I should be more concerned about?

Appreciate anyone's expertise and guidance!
Cheers
Quan

You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

3 people like this post.
PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2016 2:26 am 
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

Liked in: 1727 posts
well...... there is no "T" because this is pre-Tritium ;)
you happened to find one of the rarest Navitimers of all, the Mk3 "beaded bezel" panda

the first panda dials were installed in the Mk2 cases of the Venus 178 "all blacks", only produced, as far as we know, from late 1963 to early 1964.

can you be so kind and try to post a pic of the inside caseback, or at least the first 5 digits of the serial; should be 97x.xxx to 99x.xxx

PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2016 2:39 am 
Breitling Newbie
Breitling Newbie

Hi WatchFred,
Thank you for the information!
The serial is 972310 so seems to sit in the 1963 bracket.
I haven't opened the case back yet.....

WatchFred likes this post.
PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2016 2:45 am 
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

very, very lovely piece, congratulations !!!!

PostPosted: Mon Dec 05, 2016 12:01 am 
Breitling Newbie
Breitling Newbie

Liked in: 0 post