It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 7:31 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: My Father's Watch
PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2011 7:35 am 
Breitling Newbie
Breitling Newbie

Liked in: 0 post
Hello,

Absolute newbie here. I'm looking for advice regarding my father's SS Breitling 769. My questions are:

1. When was it made? Back of case says 704xxx above 769. No other features on SS back.
2. Best recommendations for cleaning and adjustment?
3. How to get it appraised?

Pic here. http://i.imgur.com/oFhY9.jpg

TIA

Post subject: Re: My Father's Watch
PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2011 8:38 am 
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

Liked in: 1727 posts
congrats, very nice watch.
Serial number dates it to 1947, though dial and hands are later replacements, this dial was launched in the early 50s, definitely after 1952.

Re getting it cleaned and adjusted, pm member chronodeco, this is the best you can do to get a perfectly serviced watch from a competent, fair watchmaker.

Re appraisal, this is dicey, look at completed ebay auctions or chrono24, the replacement dial will reduce the value to some collectors.

PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2011 9:00 am 
Breitling Newbie
Breitling Newbie

WatchFred wrote:
congrats, very nice watch.
Serial number dates it to 1947, though dial and hands are later replacements, this dial was launched in the early 50s, definitely after 1952.
Thanks, very interesting information. I just talked to my Dad about this and he has no recollection of having the face/hands changed. Never had to take it in for service - has been in a box for 45 years or more.

He purchased it in the mid-1950's from a Bennett Brothers Blue Book corporate mail order catalog (a hardbound book sent to corporations as a higher end source than Sears/Montgomery Wards, but with discounted(?) prices). Mom said they paid $40 for the watch.

Makes me wonder if this was the 50's equivalent of a 'factory refurb' - old stock with a cosmetic upgrade. Any chance that could have been going on?