The Breitling Watch Source Forums

Breitling Watch Information Forums, Navitimer, Chronomat
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 3:27 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

PostPosted: Fri Mar 11, 2016 9:15 pm 
Breitling Enthusiast
Breitling Enthusiast

Liked in: 0 post
It is my first post here so I would like to say hello to everyone!

I am a happy owner of Breitling Chronomat 44 GMT. It is my first "real" watch and I can't say how happy I am. I am also afraid that I am going to be spending money on watches :/ These little masterpieces are awesome!

As I am totally new to chronometers I would like to ask you some questions regarding my watch.

1. My watch is brand new and for that reason does it need some break-in time before it's accuracy settles down?
2. The watch runs fast. It is very consistent and I would say regardless of it's rest position for overnights. It runs 5sec fast every single day (in the last 4days since it's heart has started to beat).
Is this possible to fine adjust it? I read somewhere that these watches should run +-1sec a day. +6sec is still within limits but that's the worst case scenario. What kind of accuracy can I reach with B04?

Thanks for help!

PostPosted: Sat Mar 12, 2016 4:39 am 
Contributing Moderator
Contributing Moderator

Liked in: 489 posts
Welcome to BreitlingSource.

Your watch is COSC certified which means it should run between -4 / +6 seconds per day and yours is within those specs. It will also take several weeks to settle so no point in timing it until you have been wearing it consistently for 4 - 6 weeks. Even if it settles at +5 there is nothing to adjust,it will vary with temperature, humidity, amount of power reserve remaining, etc. If you want to help it run slower, position it crown up at night rather than laying on its back,that will tend to cause it to run slightly slower - but let it settle first.

PostPosted: Sat Mar 12, 2016 6:43 am 
Breitling Enthusiast
Breitling Enthusiast

All right! Thanks for the answer.