The Breitling Watch Source Forums

Breitling Watch Information Forums, Navitimer, Chronomat
It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 8:58 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2016 12:53 am 
Breitling Fanatic
Breitling Fanatic

Liked in: 26 posts
As i am new in the vintage breitling world, and do not know how it has been before, this question comes in my mind that nowadays there is a lot of vintage breitling offer, i am wondering if it has been like this always that so many vintage breitlings are being offered or is this an exceptional time for collectors?

PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2016 1:27 am 
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

Liked in: 1727 posts
actually there's little interesting stuff on the market besides Navitimers ?

PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2016 1:49 am 
Breitling Fanatic
Breitling Fanatic

yes indeed, i was also aiming at Navi's

PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2016 7:09 am 
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

Liked in: 534 posts
Location: Santa Marta colombia on our way to french polynesia
and even the Navi's are mediocre IMO ?

WatchFred likes this post.
PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2016 7:14 am 
Breitling Fanatic
Breitling Fanatic

True Rene, I guess the best ones are already locked up somewhere by the early birds ;)

Dracha likes this post.
PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2016 8:09 am 
Breitling Enthusiast
Breitling Enthusiast

Liked in: 5 posts
Hi! I'm pretty new to the world of vintage Breitling as well, but I would encourage caution at thinking there is a readily supply of great references out there.

In fact, it's been my experience that:

1. There are A LOT of franken watches out there. These are watches that have one part correct, but other parts that are not. They may have the correct dial, but the wrong case. Or a redial. Or different hands. Use caution and use this great resource here to vet your potential purchases.