Breitling Watch Information Forums, Navitimer, Chronomat
It is currently Sun May 12, 2024 2:28 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: Breitling Ref 178
PostPosted: Mon Oct 17, 2016 7:08 am 
Breitling Newbie
Breitling Newbie

Liked in: 0 post
Hi, I am new to this board, as I am new to owning a Breitling watch. I always liked the style of the watches, but could never afford one, until I started to be more confident in my understanding of what can and cannot be (un)done with watches and acquired this "well used" example.

So i recently acquired the attached watch. Hands and movement (breitling signed venus) are all in good shape and working, dial and casing not so much. The case will need to be brushed and chromed and the dial will unfortunately need to be brushed and reprinted. I cannot imagine the person who did this to the poor thing.
As I will be trying to stay as true as possible to the original and not create something else, I would very much appreciate your help with the original dial and everything else that comes to mind.

From what is left It seems to me, that the dial only had the numbers 3 and 9 written on it and 1,2,4,5,7,8,10 and 11 were indicated by "I", but I am not able to find another picture of a dial like this on the internet (or have not been able in the past week, will continue to look). Most of the 178 dials you stumble upon on google seem to be reprints to begin with (indexes print over subdials, etc).
Also most of the 178 refs seem to have the non-luminous hands. What dial would be appropriate for mine? Can anyone help out? Were the indices filled with lume?

Attachment:
dial.jpg

You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Post subject: Re: Breitling Ref 178
PostPosted: Mon Oct 17, 2016 7:28 am 
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

Liked in: 1728 posts
178s were avaliable in lume and non-lume variations, lume dials always had lume hands.