The Breitling Watch Source Forums

Breitling Watch Information Forums, Navitimer, Chronomat
It is currently Wed Apr 24, 2024 3:38 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours

PostPosted: Sun Aug 07, 2016 5:59 am 
Breitling Newbie
Breitling Newbie

Liked in: 0 post
Hi all, this is my first post so some background info, I am basically a complete novice regards vintages watches, I've been wanting to purchase my first watch for some time now and I've potentially settled on a Breitling Top Time. My initial reason for wanting to own a Vintage watch is purely aesthetic, I simply love the way they look. To me vintage watches have a style and history which is arguably impossible to recreate in today's watches. Obviously I have a hell of lot to learn regards what goes on underneath the dial, all in good time hopefully!

The Top Time I have in mind I suspect may be overpriced, the seller is a watch dealership (Online Shop) maybe familiar to some of you (Vintage-Watches-Collection.com)

If I am overpaying then I can live with that (providing it's not extortionate) if the watch is close to exceptional in quality (i.e. no repairs, improvements required).

After reading the sellers lengthy and informative watch description (to long to fully include here) and then reading lots of past posts from you guys relating to the Top Time I have a question relating to the movement in this watch and if its not too much trouble a further two general questions.

Would a Top Time ref: 2002 from 1967, serial No: 1165085 originally have a Venus 178 movement? if not is this cause for concern?

Based on the pictures below (hope they have uploaded!!) are there any issues / warning signs that I should be concerned about?

If I am overpaying (as I suspect I am) would you be able to tell me what the approximate price for this watch should be?

Watch description: Breitling Top Time chronograph in stainless steel from 1967 model reference 2002. Price £1,875.00 (pound sterling).