It is currently Fri Apr 26, 2024 9:29 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: Aviation Cosmonaute
PostPosted: Sun Aug 30, 2009 12:33 am 
Breitling Newbie
Breitling Newbie

Liked in: 0 post
Hi guys,

Just wondering what you all think of this one.

Does it look right, and some rough idea of $.

Thanks heaps.

cheers.

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/VINTAGE-BREITLIN ... 286.c0.m14

Post subject: Re: Aviation Cosmonaute
PostPosted: Sun Aug 30, 2009 4:11 am 
Contributing Moderator
Contributing Moderator

Liked in: 489 posts
It's technically not a Breitling.

It's a copy of an 809 Cosmonaute produced by O&W with genuine Breitling parts after the 1978 bankruptcy. I'm not an expert on these so no real idea on value - significantly less than if it had the Breitling name on it.

PostPosted: Mon Aug 31, 2009 2:33 am 
Breitling Fanatic
Breitling Fanatic

The seller is perhaps excused for using Breitling in the listing title, as there is certainly a historical link which you can easily search on the web.

I ordered an AVIATION 6801 (based on the big case Chronomatic 1806) from Mr Wajs himself about a month ago. Australia Post forged my signature and left it outside my apartment – Australia Post has admitted liability and I’m waiting for the seller to be refunded so he can send me a replacement. What a saga – I’m sure we can all appreciate what a bummer it is to spend months researching a watch, have it sent from Zurich, and then have it stolen outside your front door because of a moron delivery guy.

I’m not into these emoticons, but hey… :guns: :guns: :guns: